Posts

Week 3: Visiting Family, Plan 9 Bootcamp

↗ Hi-res version

I visited my family this week in New Jersey. It's my grandpa's birthday so we had a little reunion over here. My siblings are on summer vacation as well, so it's really nice to see everyone in one place.

My parent's house is surrounded by trees so I've been taking advantage of all the greenery outside. I wish I had this in Philly. I love looking away from my laptop and seeing a bunch of birds flying around. (And the occasional spider.)

I honestly don't remember how I stumbled into this, but by some stroke of luck I ran into SDF's Plan 9 bootcamp this week as well, and I've been enjoying it a lot. It's surprising how much fun I'm having playing around with a weird operating system. I think it's partly because it's fun exploring a completely new system, and I think it's partly because I'm learning with a bunch of other people at the same time. It also ties in with my interest in permacomputing because Plan 9 is much simpler compared to other operating systems so I want to see what you can do with it.

SDF Plan 9 Bootcamp

I'm struggling with the three-button mouse usage, slow browsers, and weird shell, but I'm starting to get the hang of it I think! Right now I'm watching Tea Note #2 and also writing a YNAB-like budgeting app in rc (hugely based on the excellent Plan 9 desktop guide). We'll see how it goes.

Plan 9 Bootcamp: Tea Note #2
Plan 9 Desktop Guide

📮 Email: hi@jagtalon.com